Processing Times

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Processing Times

The UCIS recieved our I29f on the 15th of November 2017 to be processed at the California service centre. We have a straight forward and well evidenced application as we have been dating for five years, lived together for 9 months and been engaged for 2 years. We both have good employment records, no criminal convictions, good credit scores, no children. We have been saving for our wedding for the past two years and have a beautiful wedding planned in NYC on the 18th of July.

Our case has been in "processing" for 150 days. We originally thought this part of the process would take 3-5 months only to see that processing times have increased now to 5-7. We planned the date to submit the 129f and associated forms based on the fact that I am a teacher and if things processed quicker than expected I didn't want to be forced to leave my students before their exams (in reality it was incredibly naive to think any part of this process would be quick). We are now in a position where I think we may have to postpone the wedding and disappoint the 24 people from the UK who have already booked and paid for their flights and accommodation.

Once the visa is approved I will have to wait untill the NVC process it and send it to the London embassy who then need to schedule an interview and I will have to book a medical for at least 5 days prior to that interview. After the interview it will take two weeks to get my passport back. So with that in mind I would expect this to take another 2 months after approval, and at this point I have no faith anymore of when that approval may come.

Things I have learnt:
    There is a lot of information, and mixed information out there regarding this process and how long it will take.

Nobody can really give you any information on your specific case and how it is being "processed". My fiancé calls every week and has got no where.